This village lies in a distance of 5 kilometers west of Koumaradaioi. The location is near a stream that originates from the mountain of Ampelos, whom the ancients called Amfilisso. According to tradition, the first resident was from Elida, Peloponnese.
East of the village and nearby, it was found a stone with an inscription “choros temèneos ‘Ionos Athènethen” from which we can assume that in this place there should be a shrine for worshipping Iona. Pyrgos is one of the largest villages of eastern Samos and has supported its development in agriculture. In 1902, it had 2320 residents. Narrow cobbled streets, traditionally built houses, old churches, taverns and cafes compose an idyllic image of a beautiful and well-maintained village. Today in the village, are sold local products, herbs and honey.
The old folk textile has languished. The village has wonderful temples and buildings that give to the area a distinct character. Some of them are:
• the Church of Koimisi tis Theotokou of 1888 (Church of the Assumption)
• the unfinished temple of Agios Georgios of 1904
• the old mill in the village (there is a restoration program)
• the old municipal school
• an irrigation channel perpendicular to the main road
• the chapels of Saint Panteleimon, Agia Paraskevi, Agios Ioannis Thermastis, Agios Dimitrios and Agios Constantine
• The three caves with stalactites and stalagmites of unique beauty: the cave of Stefanis with an adjacent bridge, the cave of Theodoros on the 28th kilometer of the Samos-Pyrgos road and the cave of Beast of Revelation.
Large festivals are organized on August 15 and on July 27, date when Agios Panteleimon is celebrated.
Finally, in Pyrgos was borned the captain of the revolution of 1821, Konstantinos Contaxis.